Awards Evening 2017

3 January 2018

Students, staff, families and friends, past and present, gathered at Dukinfield Town Hall in December for Ashton Sixth Form College's Awards Evening 2017.

Special guests of the evening included The Civic Mayor of Tameside 2017-18 Councillor Joyce Bowerman and Daniel Peak, Alumni and Comedy Writer at the BBC.

As the year drew to a close, Ashton Sixth Form College recognised the work of its students from the previous academic year. Inviting past students back, alongside current students, created an outstanding evening to award those students who have excelled and shone, throughout their time at the college.

The evening began with Music from Performing Arts students Aleya Warden, Noah Shadbolt, and Oliver Vawdrey. Led by Principal Anton McGrath, the night was a reflection on the previous year and the incredible achievements that have seen the college achieve its best results ever in its longstanding history. The college currently holds the highest Ofsted rating in Tameside for post-16 provider and has been ranked in the top 10% nationally for student progress.

Subject Prize Winners were awarded per subject in year 1 and year 2 to over 100 students. These prizes were followed by the Special Awards, which highlighted students who have contributed in particular to specific areas throughout college:

The Inclusive Learning Prize - Abbie Storan

The Chris Woodhead Prize for Business - Kieran Spencer

The Clayton History Prize - Elysse Hughes

The Fraser Prize for Modern Languages - Emma Rolfe

The Leo Blockley Prize for Mathematics - Matthew Mckenna

The Stephen Young Politics Prize - Jack Harman

James Haggerty Vocational Media Production Award - Jordan Roberts

David Cullen Performance Award - Thomas Shepley

The Joan Monk Ambassador of the Year - Daniel Thorley

Outstanding Sports Performer of the Year - Emma Pritchard


A new addition to the Awards Evening 2017, were the Value Added Awards. These Awards recognised the progress a student makes during their time at the college, those who have exceed their targets and made the most exceptional progress. 

AS-level - Sanjida Amin

A-level - Emily Nagle

Vocational A2 - Waleed Aslam-Hayat

Vocational A1 - Callum Jackson


Alongside all of these incredible awards, the final awards of the night, the Principal's Awards, recognised three particular students who have shone academically, vocationally and through their contribution.

Academic Progress - Jimmy Esso

Vocational Progress - Connor Cole

Contribution to College Life - Luke Wigglesworth


The evening drew to a close with a note of thanks from the Student Council President, Luke Wigglesworth.

Awards Evening 2017