Student Awards and Reunion Evening

10 January 2013

Ashton Sixth Form College Prize-giving and Reunion Evening

In the run up to the Christmas New/Year break, past and present students and staff descended on Ashton Sixth Form College for the annual Prize Giving and Reunion Evening.

Former student and Oxford graduate Nicholas Higgins, the college’s newly appointed aspirations officer, was the speaker for the evening. Nik used the opportunity to speak to the audience about the value of Higher Education, and how, with the right attitude, approach and support “anyone can do it”. Nik was motivating, inspiring and above all entertaining!

Certificates were distributed by Anne-Marie Isherwood and Adrian Bettley from the college’s science department with subject prizes being awarded to outstanding students from each subject area; including AS, A-Level and Diploma levels with some subject areas handing out up to 8 awards. There were also a number of Special Awards handed out at the ceremony:

Inclusive Learning Prize – Martin Rodger

Awarded for overcoming significant barriers to learning in order to gain outstanding achievement.

Chris Woodhead Prize for Business – Jake Steggles

Sponsored by the College’s Business department in memory of Christopher Woodhead, an outstanding student who died suddenly in October 2009 shortly after starting a degree at The University of York.

Clayton History Prize – Bethany Gemmell

This prize is sponsored by Mr David Clayton who was the head of History at ASFC from 1973 and later Student Support Manager at the college until his retirement in 2004.

Fraser Prize for Modern Languages – Emily Sanders

This prize is sponsored by the wife of Mr Alex Fraser who was head of German at Ashton Grammar School, and later Ashton Sixth Form College, from 1960 until his death in 1991.

Leo Blockley Prize for Mathematics – Jonathan Deakin

This prize is sponsored by the parents of Leo Blockley, a former student and brilliant mathematician, who died tragically, aged 21, in a rowing accident whilst training with the Oxford University Lightweight Rowing Club in 2000.

Stephen Young Politics Prize – James Adshead

Sponsored by the family of Stephen Young, an inspiring History and Politics teacher at the College who died prematurely aged 36 in 2009. This prize is awarded to the student who demonstrates the keenest enthusiasm for Politics.

The Principal’s Awards sponsored by Ashton Sixth Form College Principal Dr Janet Nevin aim to recognise outstanding contribution in the following areas;

Academic Progress – Sophie Goodwin

Vocational Progress – Louise Edwards, Rachael White

Contribution to College Life – Jessica Gledhill

Academic scholarships were also awarded to exceptional students in their first year of college. Students were chosen after enrolment and receive a cheque as a reward for their achievements.

Farinaz Afshari        Olivia Green            Joeseph Gregory    Sarah Hogan

Liam Hulmes            Nicole Searle           Thaddeus Kenny     Kate Murray

Eleanor Ormsby      Lucy Taylor               Jessica Vickers       James Hutton

After certificates and awards had been collected there was an opportunity for leavers who have started their university courses or are now in employment to get together and catch-up on all that’s been happening since September. The event was a real success and a great way of recognising the hard work and commitment needed to succeed in Further Education.